Welcome from Chair of Governors

It is with great pleasure that I welcome you to the website of St John Southworth RC Primary School. I hope that it gives you an insight into our happy school and all that we aim to do.


The Governing Board is made up of representatives from the Diocese of Salford (Foundation Governors), Parents, Staff and the Local Authority. Our main responsibilities are to determine the aims and overall running of the school, with a view to promoting high standards of educational attainment within an atmosphere of love and respect for all.


The Catholic ethos of our school underpins all the decisions that we make and the attitudes that we model. The Governing Board is actively involved in the strategic development and financial management of the school, as required by law, and operates through three major committees – School Effectiveness (SEC), Curriculum and Resources, plus individual governors undertaking nominated roles.


I am extremely proud to be Chair of the Governing Board knowing what an honour it is to be in the service of such a wonderful community.


John McManus.


Here is a list of our governors:


Mrs P Jackson - Vice Chair of Governors

Foundation Governors

Mr J McManus - Chair

Mrs M Clark

Mrs P Jackson 

Fr. G Kelly - Parish Priest

Mr M Zycinski


Parent Governors

Mrs S Jarjue


Staff Governors

Mrs M Cowell

Associate Governors

Mrs E Mason


Please click here to view the Composition of the Governing Board

Please click here to view the Governor Attendance Register Academic Year 2020/21

Please click here to view the Governor Register of Interests

Please click here to view the Governor Business Interests

Please click here to view Governor Membership

Governor Committees

Governor Information